Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Streets are considered public parking, therefore, vehicles parked on a city street are allowed as long as they have current and valid registration. As long as they are on the city street they can park in front of your home. City Ordinance limits parking to 72 hours, then vehicle must be moved. If the vehicle is not moved after this time it will be considered abandoned and can be towed. This also includes the vehicles of the property owner. Normally a 72-hour sticker could be placed on the vehicle advising it will be towed if not moved.
Show All Answers
Complaints may be filed at any time against an officer. They can be filed in person, in writing, online or by telephone. Complaints should concisely and specifically describe the conduct of the employee that was found to be improper. Rather than saying an employee was rude, explain how they were rude by providing specific words or phrases. Complaints made be filed anonymous and are investigated; however investigations are less likely to reveal all the facts surrounding an allegation when the investigator is deprived of the opportunity to contact the complainant.
You can commend an officer by sending an email or by calling 573-243-3151 and speaking with a supervisor.
We do not provide fingerprint services. If an employment opportunity requires the applicant to submit fingerprints to state and federal agencies for clearances, please refer to the MACHS website and click on "Search for Fingerprint Location Near You" on their Fingerprint Portal to find a fingerprint service location near you: Missouri Automated Criminal History System (MACHS)
No matter where you actually live, if the crime occurred in City of Jackson Missouri, you need to call the Jackson Police Department. If the crime occurred in another city or in the county, the crime should be reported to the law enforcement agency responsible for that area. Jackson Police have two main numbers you can call. Those numbers are 911 (emergency), and 573-243-3151 (non-emergency). Do not report crimes on our social media pages as they are not monitored after business hours, weekend or holidays.
Call 911 when there is a crime in progress, a fire, a medical emergency, when someone is in physical danger or in other situations in which help is needed immediately.
Although your address will appear on the 911-computer screen when you call, the dispatcher will still immediately ask you your address and the nature of your emergency. This is to verify that the address on the screen is accurate. On rare occasions, the address displayed on the screen is different than the location the caller is actually calling from. Also, the location of cell phone calls do not display on the screen.
If your emergency requires Jackson Police or Jackson Fire Rescue, Jackson Police Communications will take your information and then dispatch a unit. If your emergency involves an ambulance, your call will be transferred to Cape County Private Ambulance Service. This transfer will be instant. The Jackson Police Dispatcher will remain on the line with you until the call is answered by that ambulance service. They will then dispatch Jackson Fire Rescue to that location as well.
It is important that the 911 number not be called for road conditions, general information, to report a non-emergency crime, information, etc. Tying up these lines for non-emergency issues could cost a life.
For those situations in which the immediate intervention of emergency personnel is not needed, call 573-243-3151. From time to time major incidents occur where our phone lines become tied up. Not only are dispatchers answering phones, they are also handling radio traffic for emergency service agencies involved. Please be patient.
The Missouri State Highway Patrol maintains a list of sex offenders residing in Cape Girardeau County who are required to register under Section 589.400 RSMo. A list of sex offenders is offered as a public service to citizens who may need this information for the protection and well-being of their families. This list contains the names of registered sex offenders who reside in State of Missouri. Go to the Missouri State Highway Patrol Sex Offender Registry.
Certain criteria must be met in order to obtain an Ex Parte Order of Protection. First, the person wanting the order (Petitioner) and the person being served (Respondent) must be at least 18 years of age. Second, both Petitioner and Respondent must have a physical address. Third, the order can be filed in:
If the criteria are met, the petitioner must go to the Circuit Court, Division IV to apply for the protection order. Division IV is located at:203 N High StreetSuite 129Jackson, MO 63755
You should immediately pull to the edge of the roadway and place your vehicle in park. Always remain inside your vehicle unless instructed to exit your vehicle. It is very important that you place your hands in plain view of the officer; this is to ensure the safety of our officers and the citizens that we have contacted. This is a very stressful incident for both the citizen and the officer and we will do everything possible to get you back on your way.
Your summons requires you to appear in person before the Jackson Municipal Court on the date and time indicated at the top of the summons. If you wish to plead guilty and pay your fine and court costs by mail or at Municipal Court Office, PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH THROUGH THE MAIL. it must be paid before 4 pm the day before your court date. You may also do so by going to the Missouri Courts webpage and select the payments button. Please allow 10-14 days from the receipt of your ticket for it to be filed with the court and made payable.
Only certain violations may be paid before your court date. You must appear in Court if you were involved in an accident or the offense occurred in a construction zone. The violations and fines that are payable out of court are listed on the Court Handout /envelope you should have received with your summons. If you did not receive this you may call the Municipal Court Clerk at 573-204-0618 to see if the violation is payable out of court. For more information about the Jackson Municipal Court, please visit the Municipal Court page.
IMPORTANT: If the ticket is not paid before your court date and you do not appear in court, a warrant for your arrest may be issued and you may be subject to additional fees.
Jackson Municipal CourtCity Hall100 North Missouri StJackson, MO 63755Phone: 573-204-0618
Cape Girardeau Municipal CourtCity Hall - First Floor401 Independence StreetCape Girardeau, MO 63703
State CourtCape Girardeau County Courthouse203 N High StreetJackson, MO 63755
Federal CourtFederal Courthouse555 Independence StreetCape Girardeau, MO 63701
If you are concerned about possible illegal activity occurring in your neighborhood and you would like extra patrol in that area, you can call the Police Department to request extra patrol or fill out the online Request for Extra Patrol form. Requests for extra patrols are added to a list and distributed directly to our officers to alert them of your concerns.
For citizens within the City Limits of Jackson, the department offers vacation checks to our citizens who will be out of town for an extended time. A Vacation Request Form can be completed online or call our department prior to leaving on vacation. Your address, along with the dates you plan on being out of town will be provided to officers and they will make every effort to keep an eye on your residence while you're away.
The Department reviews each report written to ascertain whether there is sufficient information to conduct a follow-up investigation. If there is information that is available for a case solution, the case is transferred to the Criminal Investigations Division for further development. During this process, a Detective may contact you to see if you have any additional information. If you have a question reference your case please call 573-243-3151. This process may take 3 to 5 business days, so please be patient.
If you are involved in an accident, within the city limits of Jackson, call the police to have the accident investigated. Accident reports are available 7 to 10 business days after the incident has been reported. Copies of Accident can be obtained online or at the Jackson Police Department. In most cases the report is released to you that day, if it has been approved. It is advisable to call ahead to see if the report is ready for release.
The more information that you can provide the quicker the accident report request can be processed. Please provide as much of the following information when you call:
Copies of accident reports are not faxed or emailed.
The Jackson Police Department has developed policies and procedures regarding the release of reports that are in compliance with both legislative and case law, balancing public disclosure with privacy rights. The public may obtain certain reports under the State of Missouri Sunshine Law. Not all on going or felony investigations are public information. Under Missouri State Statute 610.100, the information available to the public is information from the incident report, which includes date, time, location, names of victims and the nature of the crime or incident. Juvenile information and victim information in sex crimes are not open to the public.
Copies of police reports are generally available within 7 to 10 working days after the incident has been reported. Copies of reports may be obtained at the Police Department Records Section, during normal business hours. (Monday through Friday 8 am to 4 pm) excluding major holidays.
Within the first 30 days of the incident, the only people allowed to obtain a copy of a report are:
If you would like a copy of the report, fill out a request for report form at the Jackson Police Department (this form may be found in the FORMS area of our webpage). Be prepared to present proper identification when requesting copies of some types of reports. It is always advisable to call ahead to verify that your report is available. Information contained on reports cannot be disseminated over the phone. Please provide as much of the following information as possible:
There is a three-business-day processing period that begins after the request has been received by Jackson Police. Special requests may take longer to complete. If the request cannot be fulfilled in the allotted time, you will be advised of the reason and given a date the information will be available. The request and report is forwarded to the City Attorney's office for review and they make the determination what information can be release. In general, police reports are considered public information. There are exceptions in Missouri Law that allow certain parts of a report to be blacked out, or not accessible to the general public. Copies of these reports are not faxed out or emailed.
There is no rule that states that you have to wait 24 hours to report a missing person. It depends on the person who is missing, their age, mental state and vulnerability.
If the missing person is a child, elderly or a person in a very depressed state then you need to alert the police straight away. If the person is late home or late for an appointment, then it is sensible to try and contact the person or the last place they were, then wait a reasonable amount of time prior to contacting the Police.
Normally, if there is no new information related to your case, and you did not request the officer call you back, they will not call. Due to the number of cases the officer and detectives work, they are unable to give updates on all of the cases.
You are encouraged, however, to call the officer or detective working the case and ask about the status. Especially if you have new information or were expecting the officer to call back and they did not.
Officers work rotating shifts changing from days to midnight to evenings every month. They work eight hour shifts and their days off rotate each month. On occasion, because of schedule change or days off, it may be a few days before they get your message. If you have new information about your case that needs immediate action, and the officer working on your case is off duty, ask for the supervisor on duty and report the information to them for follow up. You can also email the officer who took your report. Officers email address can be found in the Staff Directory.
There are several possible reasons this can occur. Below are some of the situations we encounter.
The information you provided involves a suspect currently involved in an active investigation. Acting on your information may jeopardize a larger investigation already in progress. Unfortunately, when you call, we cannot reveal this information. When the caller sees no action, they feel they were ignored when in fact, their information was important to the case. Because of the confidentiality of investigations, the caller providing the information may never know how important the information was.
Sometimes a caller will provide information that is "current" active drug activity. Although this information may be current, it may be held until an opportune time do to extenuating circumstances involved in an investigation. It may take several months or as much as a year before the effects of this information can be productive.
Any amount of alcohol consumed impairs a person's ability to drive. The legal limit in Missouri is 0.08% of blood-alcohol content. How much alcohol it takes to reach this point varies depending on a person's size, how much is consumed during a specific period of time, etc. There is no set rule for how much you can drink and be under the legal limit.